View Full Version : S - Salt & Light

Dan Lee
02-04-2011, 09:03 PM
SALT & LIGHT

Is 58:7-10; 1Cor 2:1-5; Mt 5:13-16
"You are the salt of the earth." "You are the light of the world."

A woman in a coma was dying. She suddenly had a feeling that she was taken up to heaven and stood before the judgment seat.

"Who are you?" a Voice said to her.
"I’m the wife of the mayor," she replied.
"I did not ask whose wife you are but who you are."
"I am the mother of four children."
"I did not ask whose mother you are, but who you are."
"I am a school teacher."
"I did not ask what your profession is but who you are."

And so it went. No matter what she replied, she did not seem to give a satisfactory answer to the question, "Who are you?"
"I am a Christian."
"I did not ask what your religion is but who you are."
"I am the one who went to church every day and always helped the poor and needy."
"I did not ask what you did but who you are."

She evidently failed the examination, for she was sent back to earth. When she recovered from her illness, she was determined to find out who she was. And that made all the difference (Anthony De Mello, Taking Flight, 140).

Self-identification